Home | Webstore
Latest News: OOTP Update 20.8 - OOTP 20 Available - FHM 6 Available

Announcing OOTP 21, Pre-Order Now!

  

Go Back   OOTP Developments Forums > Out of the Park Developments > Talk Sports

Talk Sports Discuss everything that is sports-related, like MLB, NFL, NHL, NBA, MLS, NASCAR, NCAA sports and teams, trades, coaches, bad calls etc.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-13-2007, 05:54 PM   #1
Oxydizer
All Star Reserve
 
Oxydizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: San Francisco, Ca
Posts: 586
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2x in 2 posts
You make the call

Your the umpire of a game between the Los Angeles Dodgers and the New York Mets, the game is being played in Los Angeles, a nite game. The Mets have a 4-2 lead and they are at bat in the top of the 7th inning, no outs and a runner on 3rd base. The batter hits a pop up, the shortstop plants himself beneath the ball, but before the shortstop catches the ball, the umpire calls "Infield Fly !" The batter is automaticly out and the base runner remains on 3rd base.

Did the umpire make the right call ????
Oxydizer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2007, 05:58 PM   #2
DougWyatt
All Star Starter
 
DougWyatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,117
Thanks: 11
Thanked 8x in 7 posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oxydizer View Post
Your the umpire of a game between the Los Angeles Dodgers and the New York Mets, the game is being played in Los Angeles, a nite game. The Mets have a 4-2 lead and they are at bat in the top of the 7th inning, no outs and a runner on 3rd base. The batter hits a pop up, the shortstop plants himself beneath the ball, but before the shortstop catches the ball, the umpire calls "Infield Fly !" The batter is automaticly out and the base runner remains on 3rd base.

Did the umpire make the right call ????
Hmm. I don't think so, but I may not know the rule. So, I'll assume that the rule is as I think it is .. and let me ask - is this a trick question ?

Meaning .. is there ONLY a runner on third base ?
DougWyatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2007, 05:59 PM   #3
Y0DA55
All Star Starter
 
Y0DA55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: In the middle of the Yankees/Red Sox Rivalry
Posts: 1,770
Thanks: 1
Thanked 9x in 7 posts
There was no force for a double play?

I think that's the wrong call.
__________________
Do, or do not, there is no try!
Y0DA55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2007, 06:00 PM   #4
marioh
All Star Starter
 
marioh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,162
Thanks: 11
Thanked 9x in 8 posts
I'll say no, the umpire made the incorrect call if there was only a runner on third base (resulting in no chance of a force out).
marioh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2007, 06:02 PM   #5
ihatenames
Hall Of Famer
 
ihatenames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Rockford
Posts: 2,525
Thanks: 356
Thanked 337x in 225 posts
The umpire did not make the right call...
__________________
New Album called “When Necessity Calls” with my latest band “The fine Line” has finally dropped. Give us a listen on Spotify here or check us out anywhere else you choose to stream or buy your music. We’d appreciate the support!
ihatenames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2007, 06:07 PM   #6
Dagrims
Hall Of Famer
 
Dagrims's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 3,829
Thanks: 3
Thanked 7x in 2 posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oxydizer View Post
Your the umpire of a game between the Los Angeles Dodgers and the New York Mets, the game is being played in Los Angeles, a nite game. The Mets have a 4-2 lead and they are at bat in the top of the 7th inning, no outs and a runner on 3rd base. The batter hits a pop up, the shortstop plants himself beneath the ball, but before the shortstop catches the ball, the umpire calls "Infield Fly !" The batter is automaticly out and the base runner remains on 3rd base.

Did the umpire make the right call ????
As the first sentence clearly states that I am the umpire, of course I made the right call. I don't make mistakes.
__________________
"Read books, get brain."
Dagrims is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2007, 06:09 PM   #7
Erik W.
Global Moderator
 
Erik W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Montréal
Posts: 4,602
Thanks: 31
Thanked 111x in 77 posts
Wrong call, but it hardly matters unless I'm missing something.
__________________
Erik W. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2007, 06:10 PM   #8
CMH
Hall Of Famer
 
CMH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: New York City
Posts: 5,057
Thanks: 268
Thanked 109x in 54 posts
I ask this seriously and not to mock you, but why does it matter?

The end result would be the same regardless of the call, unless the shortstop dropped the ball.
__________________
Formerly YankeePride
CMH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2007, 06:11 PM   #9
jbergey22
Hall Of Famer
 
jbergey22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 3,365
Thanks: 245
Thanked 241x in 172 posts
Incorrect call, Needs to be forces for the infield fly to be called.... Umpire should be fined and suspended JK!
jbergey22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2007, 06:26 PM   #10
Dagrims
Hall Of Famer
 
Dagrims's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 3,829
Thanks: 3
Thanked 7x in 2 posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by YankeePride View Post
I ask this seriously and not to mock you, but why does it matter?
I think he messed up the scenario. Instead of the question being "Did the umpire make the right call?" it should have been "What is the umpire's name?" I've seen this one before.
__________________
"Read books, get brain."
Dagrims is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2007, 06:28 PM   #11
Prodigal Son
All Star Starter
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Iahiodo a.k.a. the flyover
Posts: 1,632
Thanks: 9
Thanked 46x in 21 posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erik W. View Post
Wrong call, but it hardly matters unless I'm missing something.
" , although it would matter if the SS dropped the ball, which is why it is still a somewhat important call to get right.
Prodigal Son is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2007, 06:32 PM   #12
Oxydizer
All Star Reserve
 
Oxydizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: San Francisco, Ca
Posts: 586
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2x in 2 posts
No, there is no trickery here. And yes the sceanerio is correct. I muled over this one for an hour or so. I have a whole mess of these little quizes.
Oxydizer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2007, 06:33 PM   #13
Oxydizer
All Star Reserve
 
Oxydizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: San Francisco, Ca
Posts: 586
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2x in 2 posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by DougWyatt View Post
Hmm. I don't think so, but I may not know the rule. So, I'll assume that the rule is as I think it is .. and let me ask - is this a trick question ?

Meaning .. is there ONLY a runner on third base ?
yeap, only a runner on 3rd, not a trick question
Oxydizer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2007, 06:33 PM   #14
Oxydizer
All Star Reserve
 
Oxydizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: San Francisco, Ca
Posts: 586
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2x in 2 posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Y0DA55 View Post
There was no force for a double play?

I think that's the wrong call.
no force, no double play. only a runner on 3rd.
Oxydizer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2007, 06:34 PM   #15
disposableheros
Hall Of Famer
 
disposableheros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 4,332
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0x in 0 posts
can a runner tag up on an infield fly call?
__________________
2 Wild Cards, 11 Division Champs, 4 League Champs, 3 World Champs, and 3 Best GM awards

Baseball Maelstrom - New York Mets - 180-149 .547
Corporate League Baseball - Coke Buzz - 889-649 .578
Western Hemisphere Baseball League - Santiago Saints - 672-793 .459

Record - 2428-2271 .517
disposableheros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2007, 06:34 PM   #16
Oxydizer
All Star Reserve
 
Oxydizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: San Francisco, Ca
Posts: 586
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2x in 2 posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dagrims View Post
As the first sentence clearly states that I am the umpire, of course I made the right call. I don't make mistakes.
Thats a good way to think. you could be right, but then again.....you could be wrong
Oxydizer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2007, 06:35 PM   #17
Oxydizer
All Star Reserve
 
Oxydizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: San Francisco, Ca
Posts: 586
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2x in 2 posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by YankeePride View Post
I ask this seriously and not to mock you, but why does it matter?

The end result would be the same regardless of the call, unless the shortstop dropped the ball.

Exactly !!!
Oxydizer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2007, 06:55 PM   #18
DougWyatt
All Star Starter
 
DougWyatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,117
Thanks: 11
Thanked 8x in 7 posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oxydizer View Post
yeap, only a runner on 3rd, not a trick question
No diggity, no doubt. Ump was WRONG. Bad call. Probably didn't matter, but, it "could've" mattered.


Also, makes me wonder. On an infield fly, I know the batter is out - to prevent the easy "drop, throw to 3rd, throw to 2nd - double play". But can it still result in a double play ?

IE. SS catches it, the runner on 3rd isn't on the bag - toss to third .. double play ?
DougWyatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2007, 07:05 PM   #19
Oxydizer
All Star Reserve
 
Oxydizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: San Francisco, Ca
Posts: 586
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2x in 2 posts
Infield Fly answer.

The umpire totally missed the call and was probably fired because of it.

Explanation:

rule 2.00 Infield Fly.

The infield fly rule is only applied when there are runners on 1st & 2nd or 1st, 2nd & 3rd, and less than 2 outs. Since there where no outs, and only a runner on 3rd, the infield fly rule cannot be applied.
Oxydizer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2007, 07:17 PM   #20
MorseMoose
Hall Of Famer
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,022
Blog Entries: 4
Thanks: 355
Thanked 484x in 295 posts
Infractions: 1/1 (1)
Runners advance at their own risk with the infield fly.
MorseMoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:40 AM.

 

Major League Baseball trademarks and copyrights are used with permission of MLB Advanced Media, L.P. Minor League Baseball trademarks and copyrights are used with the permission of Minor League Baseball. All rights reserved.

The Major League Baseball Players Association (www.MLBPLAYERS.com ) is the collective bargaining representative for all professional baseball players of the thirty Major League Baseball teams and serves as the exclusive group licensing agent for commercial and licensing activities involving active Major League baseball players. On behalf of its members, it operates the Players Choice licensing program and the Players Choice Awards, which benefit the needy through the Major League Baseball Players Trust, a charitable foundation established and run entirely by Major League baseball players. Follow: @MLB_Players; @MLBPAClubhouse; @MLBPlayersTrust

Out of the Park Baseball is a registered trademark of Out of the Park Developments GmbH & Co. KG

Google Play is a trademark of Google Inc.

Apple, iPhone, iPod touch and iPad are trademarks of Apple Inc., registered in the U.S. and other countries.

COPYRIGHT © 2017 OUT OF THE PARK DEVELOPMENTS. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

 

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © 2020 Out of the Park Developments