Home | Webstore
Latest News: OOTP Hotfix 21.1.33 - OOTP 21 Available - FHM 6 Available

OOTP Baseball 21 Available Now!

  

Go Back   OOTP Developments Forums > Out of the Park Baseball 19 > OOTP 19 - General Discussions

OOTP 19 - General Discussions Everything about the 2018 version of Out of the Park Baseball - officially licensed by MLB.com and the MLBPA.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-29-2018, 05:43 AM   #1
Caporegime
All Star Starter
 
Caporegime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: The Borough of Kings
Posts: 1,658
Thanks: 1,707
Thanked 1,221x in 504 posts
Re-import name & ethnicity database not working for me

I can't seem to add new ethnic groups and name sets to the game. I get nothing but a blank box in the nation editor next to Ethnicity/Language/Name Origin after re-importing the appropriate files. I've gone over the syntax with a fine tooth comb to make sure it is correct, and everything appears to look in order.

Strange thing is, I was able to get this to work last week when I created a new test league. I even posted the results here. However, for the life of me, I can't get the re-imported data to show up in the real world league I created. Is this just a problem with leagues created under the "Create Real World League" option, or something else?


Any help would be greatly appreciated.
__________________
"If you don't know where you are going, you'll wind up someplace else." - Lawrence Peter Berra
Caporegime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2018, 11:06 AM   #2
Carnat
Bat Boy
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 18
Thanks: 7
Thanked 2x in 2 posts
Two things that I'm thinking of.

First, you say that you added ethnic groups; remember that OOTP only uses up to 39 ethnicities, meaning that if you add a 40th one, it will not be taken into consideration (basically, you have to modify one of the existing ethnicities instead of adding a new one).

The other thing is that when you set up a new league and choose a region for it, you will only be able to select nations from inside that region. This is editable at the end of the world.xml file.

I'm really not the most knowledgable person here and while you wait a more complete answer from someone else, it could be something to look at.
Carnat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2018, 11:09 AM   #3
Rosco Peabody
All Star Reserve
 
Rosco Peabody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: South of Boston, Massachusetts
Posts: 974
Thanks: 338
Thanked 371x in 224 posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carnat View Post

First, you say that you added ethnic groups; remember that OOTP only uses up to 39 ethnicities, meaning that if you add a 40th one, it will not be taken into consideration (basically, you have to modify one of the existing ethnicities instead of adding a new one).

.
This was changed in OOTP19
Rosco Peabody is offline   Reply With Quote
2 thanks for this post:
Caporegime (03-29-2018), Carnat (03-29-2018)
Old 03-29-2018, 11:09 AM   #4
Rosco Peabody
All Star Reserve
 
Rosco Peabody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: South of Boston, Massachusetts
Posts: 974
Thanks: 338
Thanked 371x in 224 posts
Same thing is happening to me Caporegime
Rosco Peabody is offline   Reply With Quote
Thank you for this post:
Caporegime (03-29-2018)
Old 03-29-2018, 01:32 PM   #5
Carnat
Bat Boy
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 18
Thanks: 7
Thanked 2x in 2 posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rosco Peabody View Post
This was changed in OOTP19
Must have made a mistake when I tried it earlier then! Good to know, thanks!
Carnat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2018, 04:07 PM   #6
Caporegime
All Star Starter
 
Caporegime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: The Borough of Kings
Posts: 1,658
Thanks: 1,707
Thanked 1,221x in 504 posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rosco Peabody View Post
Same thing is happening to me Caporegime
Sorry to hear that. Odd thing is, the same edited name files & world_default work perfectly fine with both fictional and historical leagues I've tested, so I know the syntax is fine.

For whatever reason, the re-import name/ethnicities/ world database feature simply doesn't appear to be working with new standard or custom leagues in which the actual MLB is used.

I hope we get a response on this. After finally possessing the ability to add as many name sets & ethnicities to the game as we want, it would be a bummer if there was a blind spot in the game's re-import feature that will prevent us from fully enjoying it.
__________________
"If you don't know where you are going, you'll wind up someplace else." - Lawrence Peter Berra
Caporegime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2018, 04:46 AM   #7
DB930
Major Leagues
 
DB930's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 381
Thanks: 347
Thanked 496x in 208 posts
To be honest, I'm not sure the re-import function has ever worked correctly. I remember trying to use it a couple of times a few years ago, and while it did seem to accept my edited lists and begin pulling names from those, it was also clearly still taking names from the previous lists, as well, and was also still creating players based on the old ethnicity file.

Nowadays, if I make major changes to those (or the world_default file) I just create a new league and start over completely. Only way to be sure that the changes have taken cleanly.
DB930 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2018, 10:11 AM   #8
Caporegime
All Star Starter
 
Caporegime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: The Borough of Kings
Posts: 1,658
Thanks: 1,707
Thanked 1,221x in 504 posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by DB930 View Post
To be honest, I'm not sure the re-import function has ever worked correctly. I remember trying to use it a couple of times a few years ago, and while it did seem to accept my edited lists and begin pulling names from those, it was also clearly still taking names from the previous lists, as well, and was also still creating players based on the old ethnicity file.

Nowadays, if I make major changes to those (or the world_default file) I just create a new league and start over completely. Only way to be sure that the changes have taken cleanly.
The thing is, this feature does work with fictional and historical leagues. The only setup in which it appears to be non-functional is with a new standard or custom league that includes the current MLB.

With the changes that have been made to the way the game handles name/ethnicities this needs to be be fixed. After all, what's the point of having the ability to add an infinite number of name sets and ethnicities to the game if the game can't actually see or use them?

I'm still holding out hope that I'm overlooking something on my end that's preventing the re-import function from doing what it's supposed to do under these circumstances. Hopefully someone in the know will take the time to confirm if this is indeed a blind spot in the re-import feature.
__________________
"If you don't know where you are going, you'll wind up someplace else." - Lawrence Peter Berra
Caporegime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2018, 11:40 AM   #9
Caporegime
All Star Starter
 
Caporegime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: The Borough of Kings
Posts: 1,658
Thanks: 1,707
Thanked 1,221x in 504 posts
Correction: The re-import feature isn't working for historical leagues either. I just conducted a test in which I tried to remove several ethnicities from the world_default & names files, re-imported the files, and it didn't work.

I know for a fact that the re-import names/ethnicities feature worked in historical sims in previous versions because I was always able to successfully re-import Questdog's files each decade and see the changes.
__________________
"If you don't know where you are going, you'll wind up someplace else." - Lawrence Peter Berra

Last edited by Caporegime; 03-30-2018 at 11:42 AM.
Caporegime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2018, 12:16 PM   #10
Rosco Peabody
All Star Reserve
 
Rosco Peabody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: South of Boston, Massachusetts
Posts: 974
Thanks: 338
Thanked 371x in 224 posts
It didn't work for my fictional league either....before the update erased my world file
Rosco Peabody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2018, 12:38 PM   #11
Caporegime
All Star Starter
 
Caporegime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: The Borough of Kings
Posts: 1,658
Thanks: 1,707
Thanked 1,221x in 504 posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rosco Peabody View Post
It didn't work for my fictional league either....before the update erased my world file
Sounds like the re-import names/world_default feature is totally effed. Until this is fixed, I can't run any historical sims, which is usually my preferred mode of play. I don't want to start a game 1901 with era-appropriate name files only to be stuck using them as game progresses to 2018 simply because I can't swap them out. That would completely kill any the immersion for me.

This is an enormous bummer.
__________________
"If you don't know where you are going, you'll wind up someplace else." - Lawrence Peter Berra

Last edited by Caporegime; 03-30-2018 at 12:44 PM.
Caporegime is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:22 AM.

 

Major League and Minor League Baseball trademarks and copyrights are used with permission of Major League Baseball. Visit MLB.com and MiLB.com.

Officially Licensed Product – MLB Players, Inc.

Out of the Park Baseball is a registered trademark of Out of the Park Developments GmbH & Co. KG

Google Play is a trademark of Google Inc.

Apple, iPhone, iPod touch and iPad are trademarks of Apple Inc., registered in the U.S. and other countries.

COPYRIGHT © 2020 OUT OF THE PARK DEVELOPMENTS. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

 

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © 2020 Out of the Park Developments