Home | Webstore
Latest News: OOTP Update 20.8 - OOTP 20 Available - FHM 6 Available

Offseason Discount! SAVE 50%!

  

Go Back   OOTP Developments Forums > Prior Versions of Our Games > Out of the Park Baseball 15 > OOTP 15 - New to the Game?

OOTP 15 - New to the Game? If you have basic questions about the the latest version of our game, please come here!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-27-2015, 07:00 PM   #1
monkeystyxx
Minors (Triple A)
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 283
Thanks: 143
Thanked 148x in 74 posts
Pi/ps

I'm prepared to feel extremely stupid, but I really have to ask...

On the results page under the box score, pitchers have a PI and PS total. I'd always assumed it was Pitches thrown and Strikes thrown.

However in a recent game that I simmed and am reading the results for, one of my relievers has the following statline:

IP 1.0 / H0 / R0 / ER 0 / BB 0 / K0 / HR 0 / PI 4 / PS 3

Now, if I'm right that it's pitches and strikes, he threw 4 pitches and three of them were strikes. If this is the case, how does he not have a K? He hasn't thrown enough pitches for the strikes to have been at different batters, and while we did have a hit batter in this game it wasn't from this guy.

And more importantly, how can he have pitched 1.0 innings if he only threw 4 pitches?

All the IPs of each pitcher add up to 9, so he did throw 1 complete inning (in which case why take him off? We did win, but...). So I'm guessing it means something else, but I can't think for the life of me what it might be and it's too short a search term to search for.

Edit: I've just noticed there's a separate line for Pitches-Strikes, but this is 4-3 too. It also says he faced 3 batters. So... what happened to the other two? They just gave up after seeing this guy in action and thought "nah, to hell with it..."?

Last edited by monkeystyxx; 02-27-2015 at 07:05 PM.
monkeystyxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2015, 07:28 PM   #2
Peregrine
All Star Reserve
 
Peregrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Cary, North Carolina
Posts: 625
Thanks: 41
Thanked 315x in 173 posts
I can only assume what must be happening is the game is considering a pitch a strike for the purposes of that stat even if the batter hit it (for a ground out, fly out, whatever.) So he throws 4 pitches, three of which retired a batter, and of the four three were in the strike zone? All I got on this one.
Peregrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 03:13 PM   #3
Fyrestorm3
Hall Of Famer
 
Fyrestorm3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Tampa Bay, Massachusetts
Posts: 2,913
Thanks: 2,212
Thanked 2,930x in 1,342 posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peregrine View Post
I can only assume what must be happening is the game is considering a pitch a strike for the purposes of that stat even if the batter hit it (for a ground out, fly out, whatever.) So he throws 4 pitches, three of which retired a batter, and of the four three were in the strike zone? All I got on this one.
I believe that's how it's counted in real life, too. If the batter makes contact, the pitch counts as a strike.
Fyrestorm3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Thank you for this post:
RchW (03-02-2015)
Old 03-02-2015, 03:14 PM   #4
endgame
Hall Of Famer
 
endgame's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 16,473
Thanks: 4,370
Thanked 4,044x in 2,179 posts
Game log?
__________________
"Try again. Fail again. Fail better." -- Samuel Beckett
_____________________________________________
endgame is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 03:25 PM   #5
Fyrestorm3
Hall Of Famer
 
Fyrestorm3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Tampa Bay, Massachusetts
Posts: 2,913
Thanks: 2,212
Thanked 2,930x in 1,342 posts
For what it's worth, I double checked a game log of my own, and yes, balls put into play (even if they aren't outs) are considered strikes.

Like I said, I could be wrong, but I do believe that's how it works in real life, too.
Fyrestorm3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 06:03 PM   #6
Bluenoser
Hall Of Famer
 
Bluenoser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Dartmouth, NS
Posts: 11,581
Thanks: 1,206
Thanked 3,630x in 2,200 posts
PI = pitches thrown

PS= pitches thrown for strikes - all that means is they were in the strike zone - not necessarily a strike on the batter
__________________
"I don't think a manager should be judged by whether he wins the pennant, but by whether he gets the most out of the twenty-five men he's been given." Chuck Tanner
Bluenoser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 09:03 PM   #7
Anthropoid
Minors (Rookie Ball)
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 29
Thanks: 15
Thanked 7x in 6 posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluenoser View Post
PI = pitches thrown

PS= pitches thrown for strikes - all that means is they were in the strike zone - not necessarily a strike on the batter
So there are effectively two phenomenae both called "strikes?"

1. Throwing a pitch that an Umpire deems to have been in the strike zone and which gets counted by the PS stat.

2. Throwing a pitch that gets counted as a strike against a player, either because:
a. he swings at it and misses, or
b. he bunts it and it goes foul

But in fact, if you throw a pitch that is NOT in the strike zone, and the batter swings at it and misses, it then becomes a strike (K), even though it wouldn't have been deemed a strike (PS)?!?
Anthropoid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 10:08 PM   #8
Fyrestorm3
Hall Of Famer
 
Fyrestorm3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Tampa Bay, Massachusetts
Posts: 2,913
Thanks: 2,212
Thanked 2,930x in 1,342 posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anthropoid View Post
So there are effectively two phenomenae both called "strikes?"

1. Throwing a pitch that an Umpire deems to have been in the strike zone and which gets counted by the PS stat.

2. Throwing a pitch that gets counted as a strike against a player, either because:
a. he swings at it and misses, or
b. he bunts it and it goes foul

But in fact, if you throw a pitch that is NOT in the strike zone, and the batter swings at it and misses, it then becomes a strike (K), even though it wouldn't have been deemed a strike (PS)?!?
Pretty much. It's not an exact science. The best way to look at it is that there are two ways for a pitch to be counted as a strike when it comes to post-game totals: either it is a called strike by the umpire, or the batter swings at it.

Because whatever the outcome of the swing (a miss, a foul, an out, or a hit), it will be listed as a strike in the box score.
Fyrestorm3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 11:09 PM   #9
RchW
Hall Of Famer
 
RchW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: The big smoke
Posts: 14,698
Thanks: 5,301
Thanked 5,210x in 3,186 posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fyrestorm3 View Post
For what it's worth, I double checked a game log of my own, and yes, balls put into play (even if they aren't outs) are considered strikes.

Like I said, I could be wrong, but I do believe that's how it works in real life, too.
Yes contact counts as a strike. That's why strikes thrown is a little misleading. A pitcher who is ineffective may be confused as a strike thrower.
__________________
Cheers

RichW

“Conservatism consists of exactly one proposition …There must be in-groups whom the law protects but does not bind, alongside out-groups whom the law binds but does not protect.” Frank Wilhoit

So much for personality. Albert Belle, a complete nut job was never traded and was the highest paid player in the game, twice!

#Alternativefacts=lies
RchW is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2015, 07:51 AM   #10
Anthropoid
Minors (Rookie Ball)
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 29
Thanks: 15
Thanked 7x in 6 posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RchW View Post
Yes contact counts as a strike. That's why strikes thrown is a little misleading. A pitcher who is ineffective may be confused as a strike thrower.
But, throwing pitches that are hard enough to hit that they will tend to NOT produce hits is another type of "pitcher effectiveness" right?

So in sum, there are three (well four, but "technically three?) possible outcomes for a pitch:

1. Ball = pitch deemed outside strike zone by ump and batter did not swing.

2. Strike = a range of possible events, including, batter swings and misses (at any pitch), batter foul tips the ball, batter hits the ball but gets thrown out at first (meaning the hit did not count as a "hit")?

3. Hit = batter's bat made contact with the pitch and propelled it somewhere into fair play area, and the batter was able to make it to 1st base (or farther) safely

Is that all accurate?

Amazing how complicated baseball rules really are, but I guess I'm doing pretty good to remember as much as I do having not had any real exposure to the game for decades

Have to admit though, that one about the 3 bunt foul being counted as a strike I had forgot till I let Nap Lajoie strike himself out that way
Anthropoid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:44 AM.

 

Major League Baseball trademarks and copyrights are used with permission of MLB Advanced Media, L.P. Minor League Baseball trademarks and copyrights are used with the permission of Minor League Baseball. All rights reserved.

The Major League Baseball Players Association (www.MLBPLAYERS.com ) is the collective bargaining representative for all professional baseball players of the thirty Major League Baseball teams and serves as the exclusive group licensing agent for commercial and licensing activities involving active Major League baseball players. On behalf of its members, it operates the Players Choice licensing program and the Players Choice Awards, which benefit the needy through the Major League Baseball Players Trust, a charitable foundation established and run entirely by Major League baseball players. Follow: @MLB_Players; @MLBPAClubhouse; @MLBPlayersTrust

Out of the Park Baseball is a registered trademark of Out of the Park Developments GmbH & Co. KG

Google Play is a trademark of Google Inc.

Apple, iPhone, iPod touch and iPad are trademarks of Apple Inc., registered in the U.S. and other countries.

COPYRIGHT © 2017 OUT OF THE PARK DEVELOPMENTS. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

 

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © 2018 Out of the Park Developments