Home | Webstore
Latest News: OOTP 25 Available - FHM 10 Available - OOTP Go! Available

Out of the Park Baseball 25 Buy Now!

Go Back   OOTP Developments Forums > Prior Versions of Our Games > Out of the Park Baseball 16 > OOTP 16 - New to the Game?

OOTP 16 - New to the Game? If you have basic questions about the the latest version of our game, please come here!

Old 02-07-2016, 12:10 PM   #1
pubs
Minors (Single A)

New to online league - looking for tips

Hey everyone,

I've just signed up to my first online league OOTP 16 after playing the solo version 15 for some time. So I have plenty of experience running the software but none in a competitive league setting. What would be your tips for a newbie to succeed in an online league?
pubs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2016, 12:09 AM   #2
TGH-Adfabre
Hall Of Famer

1) Finances- Make sure you have a good handle on the league finances and where you rank in them. Capped? SoftCap with revenue sharing? Uncapped? Media COntracts?
2) Market, Loyalty and Interest- These are essential to projecting revenue. If you have a small market (relative to the league) you will have a hard time keeping up with the large markets.I am on season 7 of a team that was small market, low loyalty and low interest. I have 3 playoffs, 1 WS appearance in 7 years. My market has not increased, my loyalty may have and my interest is good. I took the team knowing it would be a 10+ season rebuild to strong finances.
See where you stack up on the league finances page.
3) How much better are the top teams that the rest?
Does the league frown on an extreme build-bust cycle?
Some leagues do not care if a team goes for the #1 pick others see it as cheap but not cheating.

That is where I would start.
Old 02-08-2016, 01:15 AM   #3
pubs
Minors (Single A)

The league is just starting

Thanks for the tips. I have the LA Dodgers franchise.