Home | Webstore
Latest News: OOTP 25 Available - FHM 10 Available - OOTP Go! Available

Out of the Park Baseball 25 Buy Now!

Go Back   OOTP Developments Forums > Prior Versions of Our Games > Out of the Park Baseball 19 > OOTP 19 - New to the Game?

OOTP 19 - New to the Game? If you have basic questions about the the latest version of our game, please come here!

Old 03-08-2019, 11:19 AM   #1
allenciox
All Star Reserve

Understanding how hitter ratings affect things

So I am a newbie who has preordered ootp 20 --- in preparation, I have read ootp 19 manual, and have some questions about how the batting ratings affect things "in-the-game" as possibly compared to real life. Any help that can be provided would be greatly appreciated.

1. Contact --- manual specifically says that contact determines "how good a player is at getting his bat on a ball" --- does that mean that it just affects things like swinging strikes or foul balls, or does it also affect, like, whether they are more likely to hit a line drive versus a pop up?

2. Eye --- in real life, eye is going to have a big effect on batting average as well as walks, as somebody with a good eye is more likely to be swinging at strikes than balls (for example, between 2015 and 2017, in the AL, ba on 0-2 count was only .157, as opposed to .363 on 3-1 count). Is this modelled this way in the game? The description for eye seems to imply it is more focused on getting walks.

3. Avoid K's --- also, in real life, someone who is good at "spoiling" pitches with two strikes is both more likely to get walks and to get hits (because they spoil pitches they don't want). Is this modelled in the game, or is it just an indicator of how likely they are to strike out?

4. Gap Power --- does gap power affect batting average in that it turns some fly balls that would have been caught into doubles and triples instead, or does it instead just modify the ratio of singles to doubles and triples? Also, same question for home run power.