Home | Webstore
Latest News: OOTP 25 Available - FHM 10 Available - OOTP Go! Available

Out of the Park Baseball 25 Buy Now!

Go Back   OOTP Developments Forums > Prior Versions of Our Games > Title Bout Championship Boxing > TBCB General Discussions
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

TBCB General Discussions Talk about the new boxing sim, Title Bout.

Old 01-31-2004, 01:36 AM   #1
mking55
All Star Starter

For Whom the Bell Toles (Roscoe)

First a disclaimer on this post and any future ones I make along these lines. I am not a boxing expert, historian, connoisseur or anything of that nature to do with boxing.

I have watched various fights over the last 40 years or so. My all-time favorite is George Chuvalo, so that shows what I know.

As I have mentioned in 2 of my larger posts on here (Lem Franklin and Greg Page), I want to understand the ratings. All I can do is look at the records in boxrec.com and try to see where the record fits with the rating. If I don't understand it, I ask.

I never want anyone to think I am trying to say I know better. What I am always trying to say is, "What does this mean? And if I am not interpreting it correctly, then please show me my error".

That's it by way of preamble. Now on to this guy. (cue Rod Serling).

Presented for your consideration, one Roscoe Toles, a heavyweight boxer who had a career in the ring from approx. 1934 to 1950.

Roscoe Toles had a career record of 35-10-6. That is better than some and not as good as others. He won 69% of the times he entered the ring. He is rated a 9 in the game.

Leaving out 'Old' George Foreman, there are 20 fighters rated a 9 in the game. Toles has the 3rd worst record. There is Jack Sharkey who have I not looked at, and Jimmy Young who I will save for another post.