Home | Webstore
Latest News: OOTP 25 Available - FHM 10 Available - OOTP Go! Available

Out of the Park Baseball 25 Buy Now!

Go Back   OOTP Developments Forums > Prior Versions of Our Games > Earlier versions of Out of the Park Baseball > Earlier versions of OOTP: New to the game?

Earlier versions of OOTP: New to the game? A place for all new Out of the Park Baseball fans to ask questions about the game.

Old 05-18-2006, 04:40 AM   #1
Mariners
Minors (Single A)

Question English Newbie Simmer

Hi you guys, whilst I'm not new to baseball as a game (I watch the MLB games over here on TV live from the USA) and I understand the basic rules of play, I am fairly new to playing a baseball game on the PC. I just wondered if any of you could recommend some basic reading to be found online which would help me understand the mechanics of playing the game. I have already ordered it, being a long time supporter of SI Games and their Championship Manager/Football Manager series, and can see their influence in this games presentation.

I want to understand the game more so I can get more enjoyment from playing, rather than putting it on the shelf after a few days because I don't know what I'm doing! Thanks.
Mariners is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2006, 05:42 AM   #2
ihatenames
Hall Of Famer

I know the feeling as i had to learn the ins and outs of soccer for CM/FM. I don't know of any online reading personally, although i think the best thing you can do is watch the games. You can probably search the forums here as well as there are a number of threads on how to set up batting orders and when to use relief pitchers. Also if you have any specific questions they are a lot of people here who have forgotten more about baseball than most of us will ever know.
Old 05-18-2006, 12:11 PM   #3
jm47048
All Star Starter

I would recommend Earl Weaver's book, whose title escapes me at the moment. You can do a google or amazon search on it and it should come up.