Home | Webstore
Latest News: OOTP 25 Available - FHM 10 Available - OOTP Go! Available

Out of the Park Baseball 25 Buy Now!

Go Back   OOTP Developments Forums > Prior Versions of Our Games > Earlier versions of Out of the Park Baseball > Earlier versions of OOTP: New to the game?
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Earlier versions of OOTP: New to the game? A place for all new Out of the Park Baseball fans to ask questions about the game.

Old 08-23-2006, 11:38 AM   #1
baseball_newbie
Minors (Rookie Ball)

hits + at bats + BA + OBP = confusion

Ok basically im a long term fan of football manager and like to try out their new games so thought id try OOTP.

I'm a commplete newbie to baseball, i do understand the basics of how the game works, but all the abbriviations and baseball jargon has completley lost me.

I'm sure there will be moreb ut for now just these 4 which seem to link together, at bats, hits, batting average and on base percentage.

The more i research online the more confused i get there seems to be differeing explanations out there which arent helping at all.

Can someone please please help newbie understand?
baseball_newbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2006, 11:52 AM   #2
GCCWolverine
Minors (Double A)

Batting average = hits / at bats - the percentage of times that a batter gets a hit.

On Base Percentage = (hits + walks + HBP) / (at bats + walks + HBP) - the percentage of time a batter successfully gets on base. Since walks and HBP's don't count as official at bats, they are added both to the number of at bats to get the total plate apperances, and also to the number of hits to get the number of times the batter successfully gets on base.

Still a bit confusing, I know, but hopefully this helps.
GCCWolverine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2006, 11:55 AM   #3
Raidergoo
Hall Of Famer

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Categor...all_statistics

Here's a start. . .