Home | Webstore
Latest News: OOTP 25 Available - FHM 10 Available - OOTP Go! Available

Out of the Park Baseball 25 Buy Now!

Go Back   OOTP Developments Forums > Prior Versions of Our Games > Out of the Park Baseball 14 > OOTP 14 - General Discussions
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

OOTP 14 - General Discussions Discuss the new 2013 version of Out of the Park Baseball here!

Old 01-14-2014, 08:39 PM   #1
Biggio509
Hall Of Famer

Stats versus ratings one opinion

I see the old stats only thread has been running for a while. I will admit I am far from an expert at OOTP. I have built more teams that were a disappointment than teams that were annual contenders. I have had some of those though.

Things to remember about ratings.
1. Scouts are never 100% accurate. The more time in your system, the better your scouts, and the more money you spend the better picture you get but you rarely if ever see the true ratings without turning off scouting or going to the editor.
2. Scouts are less accurate for free agents and players outside your organization. Anyone who has signed a hot free agent then saw his scouting ratings drop within a week or 2 has seen this. One of way thinking about this is when the player isn't in your organization you have a scouting report. When he is your organization you have manager feed back on where he is and how he is progressing. Socouting becomes as much as the minor league manager's input to current ability as it is to the scout.

Stats
1. You can't always trust low league stats. Sometimes players topped at a low minor league. Just because the guy hits .300 in SA doesn't mean he hasn't topped out and will never make it past low A ball.
2. Players have on and off years as in real life. The age of the player and the body of work must be looked at not just how he did last year. Don't believe just because he is young he will get better.

My approach is a balance.
A and below.