Home | Webstore
Latest News: OOTP 25 Available - FHM 10 Available - OOTP Go! Available

Out of the Park Baseball 25 Buy Now!

Go Back   OOTP Developments Forums > Prior Versions of Our Games > Out of the Park Baseball 20 > Perfect Team

Perfect Team Perfect Team 2.0 - The online revolution continues! Battle thousands of PT managers from all over the world and become a legend.

Old 09-11-2019, 01:12 PM   #1
raslavens
Minors (Single A)

How important is catcher defense/game calling in PT 2.0?

I'm no expert, but it's hard to tell. I'm not seeing a big difference in CERA between a middling C and a great C on my current Diamond team, and I've seen many veteran players here infer that catcher defense is not all that important. Experiences/thoughts/hard data?

Last edited by raslavens; 09-11-2019 at 01:45 PM.
raslavens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2019, 02:49 PM   #2
dancariaz
Minors (Triple A)

tbh I think the only thing that matters is the arm rating to throw out baserunners. I've had Lavalliere for 15+ seasons (can you believe that he never won a gold glove for me?) and before that I had a silver catcher (forgot his name but he won 2 gold gloves) with C ratings below 60. I didn't notice any difference in terms of ERA. Lavalliere threw out more baserunners but that's it.

F2P Team
dancariaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2019, 03:07 PM   #3
Argonaut
All Star Starter

I'd like to see some league-wide data on this as I think it's important. But that would be tough to do given that teams may have the same catcher, but will likely have totally different pitchers. Data presented on the forums seems to have mixed conclusions. None of the stats that the game tracks for catchers can really be used without some caveats.

Anyway, my approach is to go with mostly defensive catchers (80+ rating) because it makes sense to me logically. You won't find Smoky in my house.
Argonaut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2019, 09:08 PM   #4
bailey
Hall Of Famer