Home | Webstore
Latest News: OOTP 25 Available - FHM 10 Available - OOTP Go! Available

Out of the Park Baseball 25 Buy Now!

Go Back   OOTP Developments Forums > Prior Versions of Our Games > Out of the Park Baseball 19 > OOTP 19 - New to the Game?

OOTP 19 - New to the Game? If you have basic questions about the the latest version of our game, please come here!

Old 01-02-2018, 12:11 AM   #1
Harryherky
Bat Boy

Need help with computer purchase

I am new to OOTP, have been studying posts on the Community and am ready to purchase the game. Unfortunately, my existing desktop computer is too old and slow and unable to run the game.
Therefore, I am going to purchase a new computer (preferably a laptop) so that I can play OOTP and would love some advice:
The website gives minimum specs for Windows --Vista/Win7/Win8.x/Win10, min. 1024×768 display, 1GHz processor, 2 GB RAM, at least 5 GB free HD space, OpenGL 1.4 or newer -- so obviously I need to follow those guidelines.
Can anyone offer advice about what I should look for or avoid when purchasing a new laptop that will make my game playing run smoothly? Are there certain specs that I should enhance that make the game better?
Harryherky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2018, 12:07 PM   #2
TGH-Adfabre
Hall Of Famer

I cannot give specific advice. I always buy inexpensive computer systems and OOPT runs like a charm on all of them. My 6 year old laptop ran OOTP18 with no problems. I would not worry about it at all.
Old 01-02-2018, 05:01 PM   #3
RchW
Hall Of Famer

Good advice above. I'd assume you'd want it for more than just OOTP. Buy what you can afford with the most storage and highest resolution. One thing I noticed buying 3 laptops recently was that smaller SSD's are offered often as the only storage option. I assume because of cloud storage. Although I like and use SSD's I chose a large HDD disk instead.

FWIW

RichW

#stopthestupid