Home | Webstore
Latest News: OOTP 25 Available - FHM 10 Available - OOTP Go! Available

Out of the Park Baseball 25 Buy Now!

Go Back   OOTP Developments Forums > Prior Versions of Our Games > Out of the Park Baseball 19 > OOTP 19 - New to the Game?
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

OOTP 19 - New to the Game? If you have basic questions about the the latest version of our game, please come here!

Old 11-03-2016, 03:00 PM   #1
TheEquinox
Minors (Single A)

Your strategies for an MLB team?

Hey there,

I'm fairly new to OOTP and relatively new to baseball as well (I'm from Europe). I've started a game in OOTP16 with the Red Sox which I continued in OOTP17 and I just finished the 2019 season.

I think I did quite okay, made it to the playoffs in every season so far and won the World Series in 2018. In 2019 I lost the ALCS to the later winners, the Texas Rangers.

So, I was wondering what your approach to the game is. How do you build your roster, what are you looking for in players? How much effort do you put into the minor leagues and did it ever pay off? I seem to have troubles getting any worthwhile players from the minors. I got one draft SP with 5* potential, but he didn't really turn out well so far. Other than that, the guys from my minor leagues rosters haven't been more than replacements for injuries so far.

Here is my current team for the upcomping 2020 season (ratings 0-100):

Pitching staff:

Kolby Allard is the minors prospect I mentioned. As you can see, my attempts to use him in the MLB roster more or less failed so far:

He just lost one star in potential, but I really want to put him into the starting rotation this upcoming season. Especially because my budget has been stretched to the limit and it will be helpful to have an SP at minimum salary.

Here are my fielders/batters: