Home | Webstore
Latest News: OOTP 25 Available - FHM 10 Available - OOTP Go! Available

Out of the Park Baseball 25 Buy Now!

Go Back   OOTP Developments Forums > Prior Versions of Our Games > Earlier versions of Out of the Park Baseball > Earlier versions of OOTP: New to the game?
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Earlier versions of OOTP: New to the game? A place for all new Out of the Park Baseball fans to ask questions about the game.

Old 07-17-2011, 02:42 AM   #1
Yankee Hotel Foxtrot
Minors (Rookie Ball)

Assistance required for help with roster building

Hi, as per my other threads in this New to the game forum I'm a complete novice when it comes to baseball.
So far I've been playing the game (more like observing the game than actually playing if truth be told) and am after some advice with developing a roster.

With other sports management games, like Front Office football and Football Manager, my roster building strategy has usually revolved around employing a 'short term pain - long term game' approach. Basically trying to build around youth and just making sure that I have enough experience in key positions. That has served me well in the games I mentioned above, but I'm struggling with how to actually implement that in OOTP12.

Despite having anexcellent scout who is either outstanding or legendary in all attributes, I'm finding that most of my high draft picks are usually panning out as busts.

Are the drafts in Baseball the main route to finding and developing talent or is it through overseas scouting for young talent?Or are there other avenues to finding young talent outside of the draft? If so what are some of the means to do this?