Home | Webstore
Latest News: OOTP 25 Available - FHM 10 Available - OOTP Go! Available

Out of the Park Baseball 25 Buy Now!

Go Back   OOTP Developments Forums > Prior Versions of Our Games > Franchise Hockey Manager 6 > FHM 6 - Technical Support > Bug Reports Forum

Bug Reports Forum Have a bug to report? Please post here.

Old 02-03-2020, 09:08 AM   #1
hockeyfranky
Bat Boy

Crash player.dat file too large

Hello FHMTeam, i have been editing the players for 3 months now (in July 1st mode) and only now I have noticed that the file player.dat in the save game folder is growing and growing.
The default player.dat file is 108 MB, mine is now 370 MB, because every time I change something (or create a Quickstart) the file grows and grows.
Now I have the problem that the file is so big that it probably causes crashes.
When I simulate a season I get problems already on the 31st of July - 1st of August, it loads 15 minutes and then it crashes.
Now and then but rarely it comes over the date.

My question is, how can I shrink the player.dat file again?
Without losing my 3 monthly changes.

Deleting players would be the easiest way but how can I delete players?
I already tried to retire players, but that doesn't make the file smaller.

The second problem, which is probably related to the fact, that if I simulate a season and get through August 1st without a crash, it crashes at some point if there are too many messages, then I have to go back to the last saves and delete the messages.dat file.

Last edited by hockeyfranky; 02-03-2020 at 09:10 AM.
hockeyfranky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2020, 09:53 AM   #2
JeffR
FHM Producer

We'll need to see the file to figure out exactly what's gone wrong there - 370 MB isn't necessarily too large (a late-season players.dat file several years into the game can be bigger than that), but there may be some specific issue with yours that's causing the crash. Please upload it (instructions here) and we'll haave a look.