Home | Webstore
Latest News: OOTP 25 Available - FHM 10 Available - OOTP Go! Available

Out of the Park Baseball 25 Buy Now!

Go Back   OOTP Developments Forums > Out of the Park Baseball 21 > OOTP 21- New to the Game?

OOTP 21- New to the Game? If you have basic questions about the the latest version of our game, please come here!

Old 01-10-2021, 06:20 PM   #1
LuScorpio68
Minors (Rookie Ball)

Learning a new position in the major leagues ?

Hello everyone!

I'm new to the game, and I wanted to know if you would recommend for a player to learn a new position while in the major leagues. My current issue is this : in my current league, going into the 2023 season with the St Louis Cardinals, I have 4 outfielders for three spots, and among those players, only one is a negative defensively. I have Joc Pederson, Harrison Bader, Dylan Carlson and Tyler O'Neil, and Carlson is by far the worst of them in the outfield defensively.
My idea was to move Carlson to first base once Paul Goldschmidt's contract expired, but he currently can't play the position. Can I try to make him learn the position, or should I just give up and end up giving that position to Joc Pederson who at least has a rating at that position ?
LuScorpio68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2021, 06:23 PM   #2
Rain King
Hall Of Famer

Yeah, you should be able to do that fairly easily. First base is the easiest position to learn and I'm sure Carlson has the skills and is only missing experience. If you play him there during spring training he will learn it even faster.
Rain King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2021, 08:55 PM   #3
Brad K
Hall Of Famer

People have said on the board players can easily learn positions to the left on the spectrum. Maybe this works on fictional players (which I never play). However it does not work in a historical game if the lesser position is in a different area, OF, IF, C.