Home | Webstore
Latest News: OOTP 25 Available - FHM 10 Available - OOTP Go! Available

Out of the Park Baseball 25 Buy Now!

Go Back   OOTP Developments Forums > Prior Versions of Our Games > Out of the Park Baseball 20 > OOTP 20 - General Discussions

OOTP 20 - General Discussions Everything about the newest version of Out of the Park Baseball - officially licensed by MLB.com and the MLBPA.

Old 05-15-2019, 04:36 PM   #1
allenciox
All Star Reserve

Negotiating player extensions--- what am I doing wrong?

Ok, I am fairly new to the game... at any rate, I started up a league starting 2019 with the Atlanta Braves. In 2021 season, my GM listed as a goal getting an extension for Freddie Freeman. So I tried negotiating extension for him. However, he was demanding $48 million per year for eight years, which seemed outrageous and was far more than any other player in the entire major leagues was getting. I countered with 38 million for 5 years, which he laughed at. I finally went up to 40 million for 5 years (which was all the money I had available for extensions), at which point, he broke off negotiations he was so offended. I tried several more times during season to negotiate it, with no more success. So after the season, as soon as he became a free agent, I tried again, but he was still making the same demand. Two weeks after he became a free agent, I saw he had signed with another team... his contract? 28 million per year for five years.

What did I do wrong? Am I just completely misunderstanding how contract negotiations should work?

allenciox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2019, 04:47 PM   #2
LegalEagle80
Minors (Double A)

No, that's kind of how it goes during the season, unfortunately. Sometimes I wish the players had agents reminding them that $40 million a year for a 1B in their 30s is borderline felony theft, but alas.