Home | Webstore
Latest News: OOTP 25 Available - FHM 10 Available - OOTP Go! Available

Out of the Park Baseball 25 Buy Now!

Go Back   OOTP Developments Forums > Prior Versions of Our Games > Earlier versions of Out of the Park Baseball > Earlier versions of OOTP: Historical Simulations

Old 05-03-2012, 09:42 AM   #1
MightyVotto
Minors (Double A)

Historical Replay Addiction!

I started playing OOTP sometime in the early 2000's. I can't remember which version. I never really got addicted to it. I'd get the itch to play some baseball in the Spring and would sim current major league seasons for about a month before moving on to another distraction.

OOTP12's release last year and the inclusion of real historical transactions and lineups has hooked me, though, into experiencing past seasons and old-time players beyond just staring at their stats sheets on Baseball Reference. I'm completely addicted to this method of playing.

Currently, I have a league going where I started in 1901, complete recalc with real transactions and lineups. I've simmed up to 1936 and have been playing out the '36 season with the Yankees. I've learned so much about not only the game and the players but the historical context involved in the times. Each season I'll go to Wikipedia and look up that year to see what was going on both in baseball and in the world. It's crazy to think that in the season that I'm experiencing, they're in the midst of the Great Depression and Hitler is starting to ramp up his war machine. At the same time, Gherig is only 3 years away from having to retire suddenly due to ALS and only five years away from his death. I also just witnessed the first night game in history on 6/11 in Cincinnati. I'm on 6/17. The Yankees just traded away Ben Chapman, who was leading the league in steals. I was happy to see him go when I learned that he was an unabashed racist who would become known as one of the strongest opponents to integration and Jackie Robinson joining the league.