Home | Webstore
Latest News: OOTP 25 Available - FHM 10 Available - OOTP Go! Available

Out of the Park Baseball 25 Buy Now!

Go Back   OOTP Developments Forums > Prior Versions of Our Games > Out of the Park Baseball 14 > OOTP 14 - New to the Game?

OOTP 14 - New to the Game? If you have basic questions about the game, please come here!

Old 05-11-2013, 04:04 PM   #1
Gil Thorp
Major Leagues

Advancing Runners--Ball Very Deep

I just started playing again with v13 and now 14. I play out about 75% of my games using one pitch mode. One thing I'm seeing is runners always being thrown out when you choose the option to advance and the ball is described as being very deep. It doesn't matter how good the OF's arm is or how good the base runner is--they are always thrown out. And when I say always I mean always. Now maybe I'm wrong. It's been a long time since I've even tried to advance runners in this situation.
Gil Thorp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 04:24 PM   #2
pstrickert
Hall Of Famer

I just checked the text database. All of the PbP that refers to a "deep" fly ball is conditioned for "very deep" (the deepest depth, if you will). So, if what you say is true, we have three potential issues (that I can think of):

1. The condition (i.e., "very deep") for the text object does not work right.
2. The tokens for flyball depth (which I have no control over) may not be precise.
3. "Deep" can vary according to stadium and precise location (if OOTP matches up to this Retrosheet diagram: Retrosheet Hit Location Diagram)