Home | Webstore
Latest News: OOTP 25 Available - FHM 10 Available - OOTP Go! Available

Out of the Park Baseball 25 Buy Now!

Go Back   OOTP Developments Forums > Prior Versions of Our Games > Earlier versions of Out of the Park Baseball > Earlier versions of OOTP: General Discussions
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Earlier versions of OOTP: General Discussions General chat about the game...

Old 12-18-2012, 04:57 AM   #1
MrDov
Minors (Triple A)

What are the preferred defensive stats to keep my eye on?

I'm in my second year or trying to rebuild my Padres. I prioritize defense and pitching over offense because of salary restrictions. However I'm slowly realizing I'm not correctly evaluating defense. Honestly the extent of my defensive evaluating is looking at the fielding and positional ratings on the scouting page. I'm just curious what fielding stats you all look at, what numbers you like to see in those stats, etc.
MrDov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 07:09 AM   #2
PSUColonel
Hall Of Famer

Zone Rating
PSUColonel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 10:14 AM   #3
TGH-Adfabre
Hall Of Famer

Are scouts on or off?
If they are off (or 100% accurate) then ratings are the best way to judge a player. The stats are developed using ratings.
Someone else will have to comment about using scouts with defense.
Old 12-18-2012, 10:42 AM   #4
RamMan12
Major Leagues

Zone Rating is the best, followed by fielding percentage. Range Factor may help as well.
RamMan12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 11:03 AM   #5
jb28
Minors (Rookie Ball)

My number one is individual defensive efficiency.

The problem with zone rating is it's a total stat and not an average. Zone rating measures the cumulative effect of a players defensive play which is of course affected by time spent out in the field. To compare players using zone rating you have to factor in innings played.