Home | Webstore
Latest News: OOTP 25 Available - FHM 10 Available - OOTP Go! Available

Out of the Park Baseball 25 Buy Now!

Go Back   OOTP Developments Forums > Prior Versions of Our Games > Earlier versions of Out of the Park Baseball > Earlier versions of OOTP: New to the game?
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Earlier versions of OOTP: New to the game? A place for all new Out of the Park Baseball fans to ask questions about the game.

Old 04-23-2006, 09:31 PM   #1
theobscure
Minors (Rookie Ball)

Where do I start?

Hi. Long time listener, first time caller. I've been checking out OOTP for a few years, but have been hesitant to make the plunge for two main reasons.

1. I like to micromanage in game. Seeing that the upcoming version will have pitch-by-pitch involvement, I am down to one hurdle.

2. Intimidation. Do you have to be a computer genius and/or mathematical wiz to be able to get the customization I would want if I were to make the leap?

I see now that you can download OOTP 5 for free. Would this be useful in terms of getting familiar in preparation for the new version? I see that the game is being totally re-written (whatever that means, I have no experience in computer programming).

So I'm wondering if it would be perfectly pointless to dive in to and familiarize myself with an old version when the new version may bear little resemblance. I wouldn't be interested in the old version in terms of game play. But I'm wondering if it can be helpful in terms of learning how the financials work, or even laying the groundwork for my fictional league (would importing what I accomplish with the old version to the new version even work?).