Home | Webstore
Latest News: OOTP 25 Available - FHM 10 Available - OOTP Go! Available

Out of the Park Baseball 25 Buy Now!

Go Back   OOTP Developments Forums > Prior Versions of Our Games > Franchise Hockey Manager 5 > FHM 5 - General Discussion
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

FHM 5 - General Discussion Talk about the 2018 version of FHM.

Old 02-07-2019, 10:11 AM   #1
chickenwingzach
Minors (Single A)

Free Agents in Historical Mode

I started playing a historical game starting with the Toronto Maple Leafs in 1967. I am now in 1985 and what I have been noticing is that there are abnormally few free agents available in each offseason. I'm wondering if this is normal in a historical sim, or if something else might be going on?
chickenwingzach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2019, 11:28 AM   #2
eldur00
All Star Reserve

Quote:
Originally Posted by chickenwingzach View Post
I started playing a historical game starting with the Toronto Maple Leafs in 1967. I am now in 1985 and what I have been noticing is that there are abnormally few free agents available in each offseason. I'm wondering if this is normal in a historical sim, or if something else might be going on?

I think what you are seeing is normal. FA rules back in the 70's and 80's were different than what we are used to in the current era.

Also, FHM's historical database only focuses on players that "made it". Players that were drafted but never got anywhere do not appear in the game, thus making the number of players less, meaning there will be less free agents overall.
eldur00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2019, 01:13 PM   #3
Adam B
Hockey Community Manager

Quote:
Originally Posted by eldur00 View Post
I think what you are seeing is normal. FA rules back in the 70's and 80's were different than what we are used to in the current era.