Home | Webstore
Latest News: OOTP 25 Available - FHM 10 Available - OOTP Go! Available

Out of the Park Baseball 25 Buy Now!

Go Back   OOTP Developments Forums > Prior Versions of Our Games > Earlier versions of Out of the Park Baseball > Earlier versions of OOTP: New to the game?
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Earlier versions of OOTP: New to the game? A place for all new Out of the Park Baseball fans to ask questions about the game.

Old 01-07-2013, 12:39 PM   #1
BeisbolFan
Minors (Rookie Ball)

Various beginner questions

Hi all,

I'm relatively new to both baseball and OOTP, and while waiting till I could get back to my desktop, I've been reading a lot online and on the forums. Following some advice for beginners, I set up an 8-team league, and I added three levels of minors. I just got started with the game this weekend, and am loving it so far even though there are some things I don't quite get, and I am getting a little overwhelmed with detail. So I have some questions, and surely will have more soon

1) When I started my fictional league, none of the players had stats, only abilities (I was kind of looking forward to learning to deal with the stats haha). Was there a way I could generate a fictional league with stats, or should I have just simmed the entire season and then started the following year?

2) I'm still confused about the difference between the budget for free agents and the budget for extensions. After some trading, I currently have no money for extensions, and a little over a million for FAs (not that there is anyone worth signing as far as I can tell!). When the regular season starts, will I get more money from ticket sales that I can use for extensions? I ask because I have 4 players coming up for arbitration next year.