Home | Webstore
Latest News: OOTP 25 Available - FHM 10 Available - OOTP Go! Available

Out of the Park Baseball 25 Buy Now!

Go Back   OOTP Developments Forums > Prior Versions of Our Games > Franchise Hockey Manager 2 > FHM 2 - General Discussions
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Closed Thread

Old 10-02-2015, 08:25 PM   #1
mking55
All Star Starter

In praise of Sebastian and the conundrum developers face

First of all, I would like to thank Sebastian for fixing the photo problem that I was making "such a fuss" about. It really was a bug and it really is fixed now. Unfortunately I had to be a "pain in the ass" to get something to happen but that is the reality. Also unfortunately, I had to be the only user who was on a MAC playing historical and using photos. It's tough to be the cheese who stands alone. Sometimes you do have to be a pain to get people to really look closely at things to get them solved.

As I've mentioned a few times, I worked as a developer for over 20 years so I have some idea of the problems these guys face. Our software (where I worked) could run into the hundreds of thousands of dollars so we had to be on our toes, as they say. The biggest problem is you get users who tell you of a bug that is not a bug. They've done something wrong, or the software doesn't perform as they think it should. That is not a bug.

I'm guessing here, but I'd say about 5% of the time it really is a bug. Sometimes you're lucky and everyone gets the same bug and it takes you about 8 seconds to recreate. Then there are other times when it is quite difficult to reproduce the bug. You have to do certain things in a certain sequence and remember to report exactly what you did. Your bug may be related to your setup. However hard it is to find, it's a bug.