Home | Webstore
Latest News: OOTP 25 Available - FHM 10 Available - OOTP Go! Available

Out of the Park Baseball 25 Buy Now!

Go Back   OOTP Developments Forums > Prior Versions of Our Games > Earlier versions of Out of the Park Baseball > Earlier versions of OOTP: Suggestions and Feature Wish List
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Earlier versions of OOTP: Suggestions and Feature Wish List Let us know what you would like to see in future versions of OOTP! OOTPBM 2006 is in development, and there is still time left to get your suggestions into the game.

Old 02-05-2009, 01:16 PM   #1
Spanky
Major Leagues

SUGGESTION - Live Bullpen

I have been making this suggestion for many years now. This baseball game will never be complete without having "live" bullpen action. Earl Weaver baseball and other early game platforms had this feature.

I know there are "pros" and "cons" as to how such a concept would be structured. I suggest taking a look back at Earl Weaver baseball as an example.

As it is now, one can simply throw reliever into the bullpen in any inning and leave them there until "hell freezes over" without facing any consequences.

I have suggested that pitchers in the bullpen should be charged with throwing one pitch for every three pitches thrown in the on-field game. This effect would tie into a pitcher's fatigue factor. So, if a typical inning of action on the field saw opposing pitchers throw 30 pitches, any relivers in the pen would be charged with throwing at least 10 pitches.

This simple change to the game would add immeasurably to the managers pitching strategy. Furthermore, the pitching coach would have much more responsibility in monitoring the bullpen for effectiveness.

I am not going to say anymore at this time only because this idea never seems to get anywhere with the folks at OOTP. However, I would be more than glad to offer more input on this matter if this idea catches on and more input is offered.