Home | Webstore
Latest News: OOTP 25 Available - FHM 10 Available - OOTP Go! Available

Out of the Park Baseball 25 Buy Now!

Go Back   OOTP Developments Forums > Prior Versions of Our Games > Out of the Park Baseball 15 > OOTP 15 - New to the Game?
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

OOTP 15 - New to the Game? If you have basic questions about the the latest version of our game, please come here!

Old 09-20-2014, 04:59 PM   #1
xXJayeDuBXx
Bat Boy

Do ratings matter?

I'm still very new to this game as I am in the midst of my fourth season as the GM of Cincinnati but I am wondering about consistency and player ratings.

I'm using the 0-20 rating system with stars for overall, AI evaluation with 25/25/25/25 with ratings displayed relative to the Major League and 100% scouting.

So why is it that players with ratings that I am thinking are pretty good are doing poorly and those with mediocre ratings doing well? This is not for every player of course, but Cueto was terrible for two seasons and Chapman decided blown saves were a stat to lead in. That's just two examples.

I've also noticed that my team starts the season pretty hot and then by June decide they are allergic to scoring runs and winning ball games. That has happened three seasons in a row thus far.

So am I doing something wrong? I have set each player's strategy and override the team strategy. I'm just trying to find out why my teams are so inconsistent both pitching and batting.

Am I not putting players in the optimal batting order? Are player ratings just window dressing and I should focus on stats instead?

Any advice would be great because even though I am loving the game, it does get a bit frustrating.
xXJayeDuBXx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2014, 10:32 PM   #2
jpeters1734
Hall Of Famer

ratings definitely matter. if you keep losing games that you should win it could be a number of things but i would guess strategy. Try playing out some games and see if you are still losing.