|
||||
| ||||
|
|
#41 | |
|
Hall Of Famer
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Parts unknown
Posts: 8,749
|
Quote:
__________________
If a man is guilty 4 what goes on inside of his mind, then let me get the electric chair 4 all my future crimes. - Prince Batdance June 7, 1958 - Apr 21, 2016 Don't fall for the spin |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#42 | |
|
Hall Of Famer
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 8,736
|
Quote:
__________________
5000+ Generic Logos Free for the Taking FREE: Uniforms and logos for 500+ teams spanning 1871-present Great Lakes League: 10 Conferences, 100 Teams Pre-OOTP 23 Custom Cap & Jersey Template v3.0 by Deft and NoPepper (with layers from other various artists) that I use: Caps, Jerseys |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#43 | |
|
Hall Of Famer
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,023
Infractions: 1/1 (1)
|
Quote:
The rest of the post, while I see your opinion, I have to disagree with. I (and others) have already shared why. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#44 | |
|
Hall Of Famer
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,023
Infractions: 1/1 (1)
|
Quote:
I think of it like a catch in baseball. Just because the ball goes into the glove doesn't mean that the catch has been made. He has to maintain possession of the ball. This guy didn't maintain possession of the ball through the process of the catch. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#45 | |
|
Hall Of Famer
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,121
Infractions: 0/1 (1)
|
Quote:
How do you define "makes a move to advance the ball"? |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#46 | |
|
Hall Of Famer
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,023
Infractions: 1/1 (1)
|
Quote:
In your rule, it is not. Last edited by MorseMoose; 12-19-2017 at 06:07 PM. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#47 |
|
Hall Of Famer
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Parts unknown
Posts: 8,749
|
No it's not. A player still has to maintain he was in bounds.
__________________
If a man is guilty 4 what goes on inside of his mind, then let me get the electric chair 4 all my future crimes. - Prince Batdance June 7, 1958 - Apr 21, 2016 Don't fall for the spin |
|
|
|
|
|
#48 |
|
Hall Of Famer
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,023
Infractions: 1/1 (1)
|
I'm pretty certain I'm correct.
http://static.nfl.com/static/content...11_Scoring.pdf Touchdown Plays. A touchdown is scored when: (c) a ball in player possession touches the pylon, provided that, after contact by an opponent, no part of the player’s body, except his hands or feet, struck the ground before the ball touched the pylon; or |
|
|
|
|
|
#49 | |
|
Hall Of Famer
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Parts unknown
Posts: 8,749
|
The ball doesn't move in his grasp until after he has maintained he was in bounds.
Quote:
__________________
If a man is guilty 4 what goes on inside of his mind, then let me get the electric chair 4 all my future crimes. - Prince Batdance June 7, 1958 - Apr 21, 2016 Don't fall for the spin |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#50 | |
|
Hall Of Famer
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Parts unknown
Posts: 8,749
|
Quote:
__________________
If a man is guilty 4 what goes on inside of his mind, then let me get the electric chair 4 all my future crimes. - Prince Batdance June 7, 1958 - Apr 21, 2016 Don't fall for the spin |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#51 | |
|
Hall Of Famer
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Parts unknown
Posts: 8,749
|
Quote:
__________________
If a man is guilty 4 what goes on inside of his mind, then let me get the electric chair 4 all my future crimes. - Prince Batdance June 7, 1958 - Apr 21, 2016 Don't fall for the spin |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#52 |
|
Minors (Triple A)
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 220
|
I think it is very similar to the baseball rule for what constitutes a catch. If an outfielder dives, catches the ball, lands hard and bounces and loses the ball before he regains control of his body, that's not an out, is it? But if he regains his balance, stands up, and drops the ball while transferring it to his throwing hand, the batter is out.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#53 |
|
Hall Of Famer
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Zürich, Switzerland
Posts: 8,608
|
As a non football fan I think the core issue is that the NFL needs to better define the point at which a receiver turns into a runner.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#54 |
|
Hall Of Famer
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Parts unknown
Posts: 8,749
|
I agree. That's the problem. Take away the dive and the play wouldn't have been whistled until a Patriot touched him. But because he made the lunge somehow he's not yet a ball carrier.
__________________
If a man is guilty 4 what goes on inside of his mind, then let me get the electric chair 4 all my future crimes. - Prince Batdance June 7, 1958 - Apr 21, 2016 Don't fall for the spin |
|
|
|
|
|
#55 | |
|
Hall Of Famer
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,490
|
Quote:
A football move. Once you make a football move I believe you are considered a runner. Why can't these refs understand this? Unless I'm wrong here, am I? The Steelers got absolutely robbed and I say that as a Cowboys fan! It's not like the WR was taken down or caught it while diving, he caught the ball, went down on his own and stretched out the ball over the GL. Those are football moves and a TD, full stop. Don't confuse this with the Dez play (which I still think is a catch) against GB because none of that applied because Dez didn't make a football move. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#56 |
|
Minors (Triple A)
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 220
|
No. "A football move" is a phrase that is no longer in the rule book, because it created confusion. If you are on your way to the ground when you catch the ball, and you lose the ball when you hit the ground, it is an incomplete pass. It doesn't matter if you make a "football move" or a Macarena move while you are falling. You are considered a runner when you are no longer a faller.
James' lunge doesn't affect the call one way or the other. He was falling when he caught it, and he lost it when he fell, so legally, he did not catch the ball. A pass that ends up on the ground without being legally caught is incomplete, whether the receiver is in the end zone, at midfield, or counting the cars on the New Jersey Turnpike. |
|
|
|
|
|
#57 |
|
Hall Of Famer
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 6,522
|
I'm not gonna say the call was wrong but imo James had more control of the ball as it crossed the endzone when compared to runners trying to stick the ball with one hand over the goal line. If Derek Carr had not fumbled it would be a td and yet he had far less control of the ball.
Yeah i know one is a pass and one is a run and technically its probably the correct call but it seems nit picky. Im not sure but i kinda of would like it to be control at the moment it crosses the goal line. Still it doesn't matter. It didn't cost them the game as much as Big Ben throwing the int. And the steelers still have a shot at the super bowl. |
|
|
|
|
|
#58 |
|
Minors (Triple A)
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 220
|
Yeah, I'm not saying it's the best of all possible rules. I'd be fine with it if the rule said he established control of the ball by thrusting it over the goal line, but it doesn't. The NFL is a letter-of-the-law kind of organization when it comes to things like this. I suspect the rule is written the way it is to reduce the necessity for judgment as much as possible. It's not always going to be that clear whether a receiver made a "football move," and there are times it's not clear if he's "going to ground," either, but I think "going to ground" is clear more often. And I think it's obvious in this case.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#59 |
|
Hall Of Famer
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 6,522
|
Sometimes i think the NFL trys to over complicate it. I mean how bad were the calls before the rule changes?
I remember the Renfro's no catch against the steelers in the AFC championship and Butch Johnson's catch against the Broncos in SB 12 but i don't recall just about every great catch being questioned. |
|
|
|
|
|
#60 |
|
Minors (Triple A)
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 220
|
Deadspin has a piece today looking back to the controversy about Bert Emanuel in the 1999 NFC Championship Game between the Rams and the Bucs, If the same play happened today, I don't think many people would even blink about it being called incomplete. He dives, he catches the ball, he lands, the ball hits the ground and moves in a way that demonstrates he isn't controlling it. He does nothing with the ball other than try to catch it, and end up trapping it. The only argument you could possibly make is that his right knee hits the ground first and he still has the ball at that point, but it's all part of a continuous falling motion. According to today's rule the knee could establish that he's inbounds, but not that he completed the catch.
https://deadspin.com/bert-emanuel-wh...the-1821393650 Last edited by old fat bald guy; 12-20-2017 at 07:28 PM. |
|
|
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|