View Single Post
Old 12-04-2019, 02:26 PM   #57
All Star Reserve
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 762
Thanks: 796
Thanked 293x in 163 posts

  • Change BABIP (larger) - BABIP will now be 50 points higher than otherwise.
  • Add non MLer - Tetsuharu Kawakami, a Japanese first baseman, was added to the game. He signed with the New York Giants.
  • Award winner retire - Hank Wyse, Washington's 26-year-old Cy Young winner, retired.
- Nine-time MVP Jimmie Foxx signed with the White Sox.

American League East
Washington Senators (99-69)
Philadelphia Athletics (92-76)
Baltimore Orioles (87-81)
Cleveland Indians (79-89)
New York Yankees (74-94)
Boston Red Sox (68-100)
American League West
Chicago White Sox (108-60)
St. Louis Browns (89-79)
Minnesota Twins (88-80)
Detroit Tigers (84-84)
Dayton Angels (76-92)
Kansas City Royals (64-104)

AL MVP: Hal Trosky (Washington) (3rd award)
AL CYA: Tex Hughson (Philadelphia) (2nd award)
AL ROY: Ed Stevens (Detroit)

National League East
Brooklyn Dodgers (110-58)
New York Giants (108-60)
Durham Bulls (107-61)
Newark Bears (83-85)
Montreal Expos (82-86)
Boston Braves (69-99)
Philadelphia Phillies (63-105)
National League West
Cincinnati Reds (95-73)
Chicago Cubs (81-87)
Louisville Colonels (81-87)
Nashville Sounds (80-88)
Milwaukee Brewers (79-89)
Pittsburgh Pirates (73-95)
St. Louis Cardinals (65-103)

NL MVP: Hank Sauer (Brooklyn)
NL MOP: Larry French (Cincinnati) (6th award)
NL ROY: Bill Salkeld (Boston)

Statistical Leaders
Batting Average: .Ted Williams (Philadelphia) .268, Hank Sauer (Brooklyn) .258
Home Runs: Johnny Mize (Minnesota) 62, Hank Sauer (Brooklyn) 67
Runs Batted In: Hal Trosky (Washington) 147, Hank Sauer (Brooklyn) 172
Stolen Bases: Johnny Hopp (Kansas City) 13, Pee Wee Reese (Newark) 25
WAR: Ted Williams (Philadelphia) 9.7, Hank Sauer (Brooklyn) 12.0

Wins: Mickey Harris (Chicago) 23, Larry French (Cincinnati) 25
ERA: Johnny Schmitz (Detroit) 2.07, Larry French (Cincinnati) 1.67
Strikeouts: Cy Blanton (Detroit) 159, Virgil Trucks (Brooklyn) 160
Saves: Clarence Pickrel (Chicago) 38, Ed Heusser (Cincinnati) 40
WAR: Cy Blanton (Detroit) 13.9, Larry French (Cincinnati) 13.2

- Hal Trosky and Pat Seerey powered Washington to the AL East title, along with fine pitching from Marv Breuer, Max Lanier, and Ernie White.
- The White Sox matched the 1924 Indians by winning 108 games. Ron Northey hit 47 homers, while veteran Jimmie Foxx mashed 30.
- Hank Sauer was the first Triple Crown winner in five years, and led the Dodgers to the top of the NL East. Roy Cullenbine and Pete Reiser also had great years.
- The Giants and Bulls were unlucky to miss out, as both had fine seasons, just behind Brooklyn.
- The Reds topped their division for the first time since 1932. 37-year-old Larry French starred again.
- Tetsuharu Kawakami (NY Giants) hit 20 homers in his first big league season.

Achievements & Milestones
- Max West (Baltimore), Hank Sauer (Brooklyn), and Johnny Mize (Minnesota) all hit three homers in a game.
- Johnny Hopp (Kansas City) hit for the cycle.
- There were 23 no-hitters thrown.
- Freddie Lindstrom (Baltimore) collected his 2500th hit.
- Joe Medwick (Louisville), Ted Williams (Athletics), Freddie Lindstrom (Baltimore), and Harlond Clift (Browns) all reached 300 home runs.
- Mel Ott (Brooklyn), Johnny Mize (Minnesota) and Dolph Camilli (NY Yankees) hit their 400th homers.
- Hal Trosky (Washington) and Joe DiMaggio (Louisville) joined the 500 home run club.
- Jimmie Foxx (White Sox) became the second player to hit 800 career homers.
- Cy Blanton (Detroit) won his 200th game.
- Roy Cullenbine (Brooklyn) set a record by walking 220 times.
- Jimmie Foxx (White Sox) passed Max Bishop, becoming the all-time leader in walks drawn. He also passed Babe Ruth for most career strikeouts.

- Washington defeated Chicago, 4 games to 1.
- Reliever Steve Rachunok (Washington) picked up two wins and series MVP, allowing just one hit in 5.2 innings of work.
- The Senators were shut out in Game Two, with Paul Erickson and Clarence Pickrel combining to take a 2-0 win.
- Dusty Cooke (Washington) hit a walk-off sacrifice fly in Game Three, a 4-3 Sens win.
- Marv Breuer (Washington) threw a series-winning shutout in Game Five, a 6-0 win.
- Ken Keltner (Washington) went 5-19 with two homers.
- The Senators last won the pennant in 1940.
- Brooklyn defeated Cincinnati, 4 games to 3.
- Pete Reiser (Brooklyn) was the series MVP. He went 8-24 with three homers and eight RBI.
- Hank Sauer (Brooklyn) hit two home runs in Game Three, driving in three men as the Dodgers won 4-1.
- Larry French (Cincinnati) shutout Brooklyn in Game Five, as the two teams combined for just six hits, with Billy Cox (Cincinnati) hitting a homer for the game's only run.
- Frankie Crosetti (Brooklyn) scored the series-winning run in Game Seven, on a sacrifice fly by pinch hitter Babe Dahlgren.
- Hank Sauer had three homers and seven RBI.

World Series
- Brooklyn defeated Washington, 5 games to 3.
- Virgil Trucks was the series MVP. He won Games Two and Eight, allowing just one run in 16.2 innings.
- Game Three was a barnburner. Brooklyn scored five in the fifth and five in the sixth to win 10-8.
- Hal Schumacher (Washington) was outstanding in Game Four, allowing just a single hit in a 2-0 Senators victory.
- Trucks out-dueled Marv Breuer (Washington) in the deciding game, which was a 1-0 win for the Dodgers.
- Hank Sauer (Brooklyn) hit two home runs in the series.
- Brooklyn's first world championship.

- Woody English. Eight-time All-Star shortstop. 102 OPS+ in more than 2800 games played. World Series MVP for the White Sox in 1934.
- Ernie Lombardi. Cardinals, Colonels and Dodgers catcher who retired after winning a ring in 1945. 112 OPS+ in impressive career.
- Claude Passeau. Starter with short but strong career. 171-125 with a 127 ERA+ and three All-Star games. Led AL in wins twice.

- The Phillies chose Ralph Kiner first overall.
- Yogi Berra went second to the Royals.
- Al Dark was the third pick for the Cardinals.
- The Red Sox went for Bobby Thomson at four.
- Carl Furillo was #5 for the Boston Braves.

Hank Sauer won the National League's MVP and Triple Crown.

Pete Reiser was the NLCS MVP.
Jamee999 is offline   Reply With Quote