View Single Post
Old 09-03-2019, 07:23 PM   #84
Minors (Double A)
camly's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 168
Thanks: 62
Thanked 184x in 82 posts
2083 Season:

The SAN DIEGO PADRES won their second consecutive World Series. They erased a 3 games to 0 deficit to defeat the 113-win Indianapolis Indians.

The DANVILLE BRAVES were relegated to the Pit of Despair. They finished 54-107, 7 games behind the Hartford Yard Goats for last place.

124 teams remain in Major League Baseball...

In Memoriam: Danville Braves

Rookie- Atlanta Braves

Rookie Teams Remaining: 10

Braves Affiliates Remaining: 4/5

All Time Record: 4793-5862 (.450)

Best Season: 2034, 102-60, 9th place

Best Hitter: Juan Liranzo (2025-2038)

A top prospect out of the Dominican Republic, Liranzo debuted at 18 in 2025, but he didn't become a regular for three years. His first full season was a struggle, as he slashed .210/.262/.297 to finish with exactly 0 WAR. He slowly improved, however, and by 2033 he was a superstar. That season, he hit 51 home runs and was 2nd in the majors with 150 RBI. The following year, he won his second straight Silver Slugger and posted a career best 8.1 WAR. In 2039, the shortstop signed with Atlanta and won back-to-back World Series, later winning a third with the Red Sox. Liranzo finished his career with 580 home runs and 101.5 WAR. He was a first ballot Hall of Famer in 2054, and he is the only inductee to enter wearing a Danville cap.

Best Pitcher: Shamar Maytubby (2036-2046)

The Massachusetts native and 80-grade name was a 4th round pick in 2033. Though he was never a star, he was a steady pitcher for a number of years. In 2039, he was 5th in the majors with 23 quality starts. His best season came in 2042, when he had a 3.35 ERA and was worth 4.4 WAR. After leaving Danville as a free agent in 2047, he played with 6 teams over the next 5 years. Despite a very successful stint as a reliever with the Giants in 2051, Maytubby was released that July and never pitched again.


Houston 1B Nate Draper led the league with a .362 batting average.

Gwinnett SS Luis Murillo led the league with 63 homers and a .689 slugging percentage.

Bowling Green LF Jimmy Sharpe led the league with a .436 OBP and 8.7 WAR.

Round Rock SP Juan Ortega won his second straight Cy Young after posting a 1.75 ERA, 0.81 WHIP, 299 strikeouts, and an otherworldly 1.33 FIP. His 1.33 FIP was less than half that of the second best pitcher, Trejyn Walker.

White Sox SP Jon Coronado led the league with 312 strikeouts. After winning Cy Young back to back years, Coronado has now finished in second place 3 years in a row.

Indianapolis closer Luis Hurtado saved 55 games.

Twins SS Mike Musial recorded 200 hits for the 10th season in a row. The 31-year-old now has 2206 hits, and he could be a candidate to be one of the all time leaders in that category.

RF Jorge Quintana remained a free agent and retired after the season with 756 home runs.

The Pittsburgh Pirates were the worst MLB team, going 64-97 and finishing in 118th place.

Teams eliminated:

2018: Princeton Rays
2019: Bristol Pirates
2020: Aberdeen Ironbirds
2021: Hickory Crawdads
2022: Mobile Bay Bears
2023: Reading Fightin Phils
2024: Bowie Baysox
2025: Potomac Nationals
2026: Biloxi Shuckers
2027: Lake Elsinore Storm
2028: Grand Junction Rockies
2029: South Bend Cubs
2030: Modesto Nuts
2031: Tri-City Valley Cats
2032: Reno Aces
2033: Staten Island Yankees
2034: Portland Sea Dogs
2035: Lexington Legends
2036: Batavia Muckdogs
2037: Frederick Keys
2038: Hillsboro Hops
2039: Tri-City Dust Devils
2040: Tennessee Smokies
2041: Norfolk Tides
2042: Vancouver Canadians
2043: Buffalo Bisons
2044: Jupiter Hammerheads
2045: Eugene Emeralds
2046: Myrtle Beach Pelicans
2047: New Orleans Baby Cakes
2048: Hagerstown Suns
2049: Sacramento River Cats
2050: Corpus Christi Hooks
2051: Salem Red Sox
2052: Kane County Cougars
2053: Jackson Generals
2054: Lake County Captains
2055: Bradenton Marauders
2056: Stockton Ports
2057: Dunedin Blue Jays
2058: Everett Aqua Sox
2059: Johnson City Cardinals
2060: Idaho Falls Chukars
2061: Toledo Mud Hens
2062: Springfield Cardinals
2063: Charleston RiverDogs
2064: Asheville Tourists
2065: Peoria Chiefs
2066: Lowell Spinners
2067: Las Vegas 51s
2068: Binghamton Rumble Ponies
2069: Jacksonville Jumbo Shrimp
2070: Lakeland Flying Tigers
2071: Richmond Flying Squirrels
2072: Cedar Rapids Kernels
2073: Augusta GreenJackets
2074: Billings Mustangs
2075: Iowa Cubs
2076: Columbia Fireflies
2077: Clearwater Threshers
2078: Pulaski Yankees
2079: West Michigan Whitecaps
2080: St. Lucie Mets
2081: Williamsport Crosscutters
2082: Omaha Storm Chasers
2083: Danville Braves

camly is offline   Reply With Quote
Thank you for this post:
Dark Horse (09-04-2019)