View Single Post
Old 08-10-2019, 11:35 AM   #81
Minors (Double A)
camly's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 168
Thanks: 62
Thanked 184x in 82 posts
2081 Season:

The LOS ANGELES DODGERS were the world champions, sweeping the Rochester Red Wings.

The WILLIAMSPORT CROSSCUTTERS were relegated to the Pit of Despair. They finished 59-102, one game behind the Great Falls Voyagers for last place.

126 teams remain in Major League Baseball...

In Memoriam: Williamsport Crosscutters

Low A- Philadelphia Phillies

Low A Teams Remaining: 11

Phillies Affiliates Remaining: 2/5

All Time Record: 4829-5505 (.467)

Best Season: 2026, 99-63, 26th place

Best Hitter: Jorge Caseres (2033-2046)

After getting cups of coffee three years in a row, the Dominican first baseman became a regular in Williamsport in 2036 and never looked back. Two years later, he hit 51 home runs and won a Silver Slugger award. His career high was 53, and he hit 637 over the course of his career. But he was a well rounded player too, twice posting an OBP above .400. He signed with the Reds in 2047, and in 2049 he won his only ring and was named World Series MVP. Caseres retired in 2053, and he was a first ballot Hall of Famer a few years later.

Best Pitcher: Cy Kemp (2023-2033)

The Harvard grad became one of the league's most consistent pitchers. He struck out between 9.2 and 10.3 batters per 9 in every one of his seasons except for his first and last. He no-hit the Twins in 2028, and in 2030, he led the league with 20 wins and 226 innings pitched. His lowest ERA actually came in his contract year of 2032, when he posted a 2.90 at age 32. He signed a 5-year, $88 million deal with Hartford. Unfortunately, injuries derailed that contract, and Kemp retired in 2037 after a torn labrum cost him the entire season.


Hartford LF Tetsuo Kubo led the league with a .359 batting average.

Yankees LF Luis Esparza led the league with 60 home runs.

Fresno CF Chris Knight led the league with 10.2 WAR.

Bowling Green two-way sensation Ian Kelly won his third consecutive MVP. Though his 115 OPS+ was his worst of the three years, he more than made up for it by posting a 2.36 ERA with a 0.96 WHIP and 256 strikeouts. Pitching and hitting combined, he was worth 9.6 WAR. His team won 75 games.

Angels CF Murdoch Dugles led the league with 59 stolen bases.

Mariners SP Rob Simien led the league with a 2.35 ERA.

White Sox SP Jon Coronado had a 2.15 FIP.

Kannapolis SP Trejyn Walker led the league with 312 strikeouts. Though he has lived in the shadow of Walker and Murphy for his whole career, he has been an incredibly dominant pitcher as well.

Tigers SP Curt Murphy struck out 177 batters, giving him 4254 for his career. Only Nolan Ryan, Randy Johnson, Clayton Kershaw, Roger Clemens, and Zion Bethea have more than him. He is a free agent, but after posting a 5.05 ERA it may be hard to see him getting a job.

After two injury plagued seasons, Rockies RF Jorge Quintana hit 26 home runs to move up to 9th all time. The 41 year old now has 743 longballs, and he has another year under contract at Coors Field.

The Washington Nationals were the worst MLB team, going 73-88 and finishing in 92nd place.

Teams eliminated:

2018: Princeton Rays
2019: Bristol Pirates
2020: Aberdeen Ironbirds
2021: Hickory Crawdads
2022: Mobile Bay Bears
2023: Reading Fightin Phils
2024: Bowie Baysox
2025: Potomac Nationals
2026: Biloxi Shuckers
2027: Lake Elsinore Storm
2028: Grand Junction Rockies
2029: South Bend Cubs
2030: Modesto Nuts
2031: Tri-City Valley Cats
2032: Reno Aces
2033: Staten Island Yankees
2034: Portland Sea Dogs
2035: Lexington Legends
2036: Batavia Muckdogs
2037: Frederick Keys
2038: Hillsboro Hops
2039: Tri-City Dust Devils
2040: Tennessee Smokies
2041: Norfolk Tides
2042: Vancouver Canadians
2043: Buffalo Bisons
2044: Jupiter Hammerheads
2045: Eugene Emeralds
2046: Myrtle Beach Pelicans
2047: New Orleans Baby Cakes
2048: Hagerstown Suns
2049: Sacramento River Cats
2050: Corpus Christi Hooks
2051: Salem Red Sox
2052: Kane County Cougars
2053: Jackson Generals
2054: Lake County Captains
2055: Bradenton Marauders
2056: Stockton Ports
2057: Dunedin Blue Jays
2058: Everett Aqua Sox
2059: Johnson City Cardinals
2060: Idaho Falls Chukars
2061: Toledo Mud Hens
2062: Springfield Cardinals
2063: Charleston RiverDogs
2064: Asheville Tourists
2065: Peoria Chiefs
2066: Lowell Spinners
2067: Las Vegas 51s
2068: Binghamton Rumble Ponies
2069: Jacksonville Jumbo Shrimp
2070: Lakeland Flying Tigers
2071: Richmond Flying Squirrels
2072: Cedar Rapids Kernels
2073: Augusta GreenJackets
2074: Billings Mustangs
2075: Iowa Cubs
2076: Columbia Fireflies
2077: Clearwater Threshers
2078: Pulaski Yankees
2079: West Michigan Whitecaps
2080: St. Lucie Mets
2081: Williamsport Crosscutters

Last edited by camly; 08-10-2019 at 09:51 PM.
camly is offline   Reply With Quote