Quote:
Originally Posted by lt2cents
Runner on 2B- when reliever enters game.
Next batter reaches but runner is thrown out at home.
Later the batter scores and run is charged to reliever.
I think this run should be charged to the earlier pitcher.
( Could a scoring expert confirm / disaffirm this ? thanks )
|
The run should be charged to the reliever, because the runner on second was not retired due to fielder's choice. The rule is 10.16(g):
"(g) When pitchers are changed during an inning, the official scorer shall not charge the relief pitcher with any run (earned or unearned) scored by a runner who was on base at the time such relief pitcher entered the game, nor for runs scored by any runner who reaches base on a fielder's choice that puts out a runner left on base by any preceding pitcher."
Under the comments for this rule is example 7, which is essentially identical to your situation:
"(7) Peter is pitching. Abel reaches first base on a base on balls. Roger relieves Peter. Baker singles, but Abel is out trying to reach third base and Baker advances to second base on the throw. Charlie singles, scoring Baker. Baker's run is charged to Roger."
In your situation, the batter does not reach base on a fielder's choice that retired the runner, so the relief pitcher is held responsible for allowing him to reach base, and therefore he is the pitcher charged with the run.