View Single Post
Old 04-13-2013, 02:50 AM   #6
Tib
All Star Reserve
 
Tib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Paso Robles, CA
Posts: 995
Quote:
Originally Posted by illeracula View Post
Trying to clarify the above paragraph >>
Runners on first and second. One out. Hitter smashes the ball over the RF'es head. All 3 players score. An appeal is made that the runner who was on second missed 3rd base. What happens to the runner on first and the hitter? Do they both score? Do they have to go back to 2nd and 1st?

Just a random thought. Thanks for your comments.
To clarify my answer above:

In this situation the runner would be out on the appeal if it was done correctly and the umpire actually saw him miss third. The rest of the play would stand because the appeal was not the third out. In short, runners who advance safely on a fair batted ball are not penalized because a teammate missed a base.

Last edited by Tib; 04-13-2013 at 02:52 AM.
Tib is offline   Reply With Quote