OOTP Developments Forums

OOTP Developments Forums (https://forums.ootpdevelopments.com//index.php)
-   FHM - General Discussions (https://forums.ootpdevelopments.com//forumdisplay.php?f=3843)
-   -   Custom League Help (https://forums.ootpdevelopments.com//showthread.php?t=250096)

HockeyGuy 01-22-2015 01:48 AM

Custom League Help

I am a newbie and I have a ton of questions about setting up a custom league, so please bear with me.

I am looking to create a custom 28-team league with four divisions where the top four teams make the playoffs and the top team in each division plays the fourth-best team. How do I go about doing this?

Is it best to play an 82 or 52 game schedule?

What does the “schedule playoffs” box mean?

What is a setting for the trade frequency? I tried setting up a league previously and there were zero trades despite having the setting at 25.

How many minor league teams can each NHL franchise have? And how do I go about setting this up?

How do I sign free agents? This still confounds me. I have both the roster and salary cap space and yet I cannot sign a free agent. What am I missing?

Additionally, when I try to recall some players from the minors it says I have to offer them a contract, but when I do a message pops up saying “You don’t own the league rights.” What does that mean and how do I correct this?

Cole 01-22-2015 06:42 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by HockeyGuy (Post 3799047)
I am a newbie and I have a ton of questions about setting up a custom league, so please bear with me.

Hi! Welcome to the world FHM, glad to have you aboard.

Quote:

I am looking to create a custom 28-team league with four divisions where the top four teams make the playoffs and the top team in each division plays the fourth-best team. How do I go about doing this?